Safe Place

You’ve probably seen the Safe Place signs around town or as you travel.  They’re from National Safe Place and signify safe places for adolescents to go when in trouble.  It’s a great cause to help children and teens in crisis.

I’ve always humorously thought a directory of “safe churches” would be great.  The sign makes me think what qualifications a church would need to be “safe.”

Would you consider your church a safe place? 

  • Safe to invite the unchurched or dechurched without them feeling judged or unwelcome?
  • Safe to hear what I need to help me grow and not just make me comfortable?
  • Safe for me to by myself without feeling the need to put on a Sunday façade to blend in with the congregation?
  • Safe to give in the offering with the confidence that the money is being spent wisely and cautiously?

What qualifications would you consider for recognizing a church as a safe place?

Leave a comment

Filed under Assimilation, Leadership, Outreach

Leave a comment